Special Firearms Services
Now in our Fourth Generation
Founded by Buddy Grant
Family Owned & Operated Since 1949
1750 Newport Blvd.
Costa Mesa, CA 92627
(949) 645-3400 Tel.
(949) 645-2603 Fax
SPECIAL FIREARMS SERVICES
RETRIEVAL OF FIREARMS CONFISCATED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT
If for some reason your firearms have been confiscated by law enforcement and your are no longer permitted to posses them, The Grant Boys will retrieve those firearms and legally sell, transfer or dispose of them on your behalf. Fees for this service vary depending upon travel time, the difficulty of retrieving the firearms, the number of firearms and the method of disposal.
The Grant Boys does firearms appraisals for insurance purposes, estate evaluations, and other legal matters such as divorce. Or if you just want to know what your gun collection may currently be worth on today’s market, we are happy to take a look. Fees for appraisals vary depending upon the number of guns that we evaluate and if there is travel time involved.
The Grant Boys specializes in estate sales of firearms. We will come to your home, value the collection and advise you of the best way to dispose of it. Fees for this service vary depending upon travel time, the size of the estate, and the method by which it is sold.
CLASSES & CERTIFICATES
The Grant Boys offers the California Hunter Safety Class. We generally offer this class once a month. There is no age requirement for this class, however the student must be able to pass a 100-question exam at the end of the class. Parents may accompany young students. Our class is one day and runs from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. The fee for this class is $25.00.
The Grant Boys also offers the California Department of Justice Handgun Safety Instructors Class. Gun store employees and others who are required to give “Safe Handling Demonstrations” when transferring a handgun in the State of California, are required to take this class. The fee for this class is $65.00 and is offered depending upon demand.
The Grant Boys gives the test for, and issues the California Department of Justice Handgun Safety Certificate. This test is given upon demand. The HSC card is valid for 5 years from date of issue and is required* in the State of California when purchasing a handgun. The fee for the HSC test and card is $25.00.
*Exemptions for this card exist for law enforcement and others who may meet the requirement.
SHIP IN’S & SHIP OUT’S
The Grant Boys will receive a firearm for you that was purchased in another state or another part of California. Federal law requires guns being shipped to be received by a federally licensed dealer. Handguns being shipped to us must appear on the California Certified Gun List or be otherwise exempt. There must be a California Certified Locking Device for all firearms shipped to us or the purchaser must have a California Certified Gun Safe or Lock Box and sign an affidavit stating so. If you are shipping a firearm to The Grant Boys from another dealer prior arrangements must be made. You must come into the store and complete a "Ship-In" form.
Firearms shipped to The Grant Boys from another dealer pursuant to California Penal Code Section 12072(f)(1) must include a California Firearms Licensee Check Authorization Letter (CFLC). If prior arrangements are not made or the CFLC authorization letter is not included with the shipment, The Grant Boys will be unable to receive the shipment. Out of state dealers may enroll in the CFLC program by going to http://ag.ca.gov/cflc/index.jsp. There is no charge to join this program. Complete information about the CFLC requirement is given in detail on our Ship-In form which can be obtained at the store.
The fee for receiving firearms is $125.00 per gun, and this covers all costs, including registration. It does not include fee for HSC card if needed. There is a state-mandated 10-day wait on all firearms that we receive and register. This applies even if you owned and registered the gun at the original time of purchase.
The Grant Boys will also ship a gun for you to another licensed Federal Firearms Dealer either in California or another state. The fee for this is $125.00 per gun ($150 Hawaii).
The Grant Boys does not import or export firearms in or out of the United States.
PRIVATE PARTY TRANSFERS
As required by California State law, The Grant Boys will record the sale of a firearm between private parties. The purchaser must meet all state and federal laws, there must be a California Certified Locking Device (or purchaser must have a California Certified Gun Safe or Lock Box) for the firearm being transferred. The fee for Private Party Transfers is $35.00, which includes the California Dealer Record of Sale fee.
USED FIREARMS & CONSIGNMENT SALES
The Grant Boys buys used guns. We buy long guns and California Certified handguns. We do not purchase or consign assault weapons. The Grant Boys also accepts firearms on consignment, including handguns that do not appear on the list of California Certified Handguns. Prices paid for used guns and consignment guns vary depending upon the condition and the marketability of the firearm.
Camping Fishing Clothing